site-verification: a449817f617cbd4cb02dc20b21e92fff Waco journalism student awarded | KWKT

Main menu


Waco journalism student awarded | KWKT

AUSTIN, Texas (FOX 44) – A Waco student is among several Texas students who received a scholarship after showing outstanding potential in journalism.

The Headliners Foundation of Texas announced on Tuesday the recipients of more than $86,800 in scholarships for the 2022-2023 academic year. One of them was Matt Kyle, a journalism student at Baylor University, who received the Sam Wood Scholarship.

The awards went to 19 undergraduate and one graduate student at schools throughout the state. In addition to strong academic records and writing ability, applicants were expected to have demonstrated their interest in journalism by working on student media or as interns for professional media outlets. The scholarships range from $3,000 to $6,000 each.

The Foundation introduced two new scholarships in 2022 – The Ellen and Mark Morrison Scholarship and the George A. McElroy Scholarship. The new, fully-endowed Ellen and Mark Morrison Scholarship is made possible by a generous grant from longtime Foundation supporters and Headliners Club members Ellen and Mark Morrison. Mr. Morrison served as the Foundation’s Board Chair from 2013-2019.

The new George A. McElroy Scholarship is named for an award-winning Texas journalist who broke barriers during his 58-year career as an African-American man in a predominantly white industry. Mr. McElroy, whose daughter Kathleen O. McElroy serves on the Foundation Board, would have celebrated his 100th birthday this year. Fundraising to fully endow this scholarship is ongoing.

Many of the Foundation’s scholarships are named in remembrance of the contributions of early benefactors, including a number of its Founders – Jimmy Banks, Barry Bishop, Dolly and Paul Bolton, George Christian, John “Brick” Elliott, Wilbur Evans, Jack E. Keever , George Moore, Joe Roddy, Darrell Royal and Sam Wood.

The recipients are:

Sarah and Ernest Butler Scholarship
Jacqueline KnoxBoerne, TX – The University of Texas at Austin

George Christian Scholarship
Adeline CostelloAustin, TX – The University of Texas at Austin

Stuart Long Memorial Scholarship for Aspiring Journalists

Sarah HernandezSan Marcos, TX – Texas State University

Hope UngerAustin, TX – The University of Texas at Austin

Verne Lundquist Scholarship
Drake ToolVilonia, AR – Baylor University

George A. McElroy Scholarship
Aysia LanePlano, TX – Southern Methodist University

Ellen and Mark Morrison Scholarship

Megan TranHouston, TX – The University of Texas at Austin

Darrell K. Royal Scholarship

Nathaniel SmithPorter, TX – Baylor University

Jimmy Banks Scholarship and Jack Keever Scholarship
Fiza KuzhiyilAustin, TX – The University of Texas at Austin

Barry Bishop Scholarship
Madelyn WeirichSan Marcos, TX – Texas State University

Dolly and Paul Bolton Scholarship
Haeven GibbonsGeorgetown, TX – Texas Christian University

John “Brick” Elliott Scholarship

Brian YancelsonSan Antonio, TX – Trinity University

Sam Wood Scholarship

Matt KyleWaco, TX – Baylor University

Wilbur Evans Scholarship
Leila SaidaneRichardson, TX – The University of Texas at Austin

George Moore Scholarship
Peyton SimsTexarkana, TX – The University of Texas at Austin

Founders Scholarship
George SchroederFort Worth, TX – Baylor University

Founders Scholarship
Soksan TengPlano, TX – Southern Methodist University

Bess Whitehead Scott Scribes Scholarship
Jacqueline KingstonAmarillo, TX – West Texas A&M University

For more information about the scholars, including biographies and photos, you can visit the scholarship winners’ page at